Salleh to contest Usukan; Jumat gets Sepanggar

Karim Bujang, Surady Kayong, Harman Mohd, Raimi Unggi, Salleh Kalbi dropped

musaman16KOTA KINABALU: Former chief minister Datuk Salleh Said Keruak makes a comeback to active politics – he was in the UMNO lineup for a state seat – when Sabah UMNO chief made the announcements for candidates Tuesday.

Salleh will contest the Usukan seat in place of Japlin Akim who was dropped along with Datuk Karim Bujang (Bongawan), Datuk Harman Mohammad (Sulabayan) and Datuk Surady Kayong (Sugut).

Their replacements are lawyer Mohamad Alamis, the Kimanis Umno Youth chief in Bongawan, Datuk Jaujan Sambukong was the party’s choice for Sulabayan and Datuk James Ratib was picked to contest in Sugut.

Former Lahad Datu Assemblyman, Datu Nasrun Mansur was pushed to contest the Silam parliamentary seat which was vacated by Salleh Kalbi.

In his place was businessman Datuk Yusof Apdal, a younger brother of party vice president Datuk Mohd Shafie Apdal.

Musa said Umno would be announcing its choice for the Tenom seat later after a few issues were resolved.

Jaujan is a former political secretary of Sahfie who maintains his Semporna parliamentary seat.

Businessman Datuk Jumat Idris was the Umno choice for Sepanggar won by the Sabah Progressive Party (SAPP) that quit Barisan Nasional after the 2008 polls.

State minister Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun was picked to wrest the Beaufort parliament seat from Datuk Lajim Ukin who resigned from Umno last September and aligned himself to PKR.

Contesting the Klias seat vacated by Azizah was businessman Isnin Aliasmih.

Musa will be defending his Sibuga seat.